Green electoral candidates

Green success in local elections:


The Green Party first began contesting seats in Amber Valley in 2006 with the Party finishing second in Belper Central in 2008, though it took until 2015 before we had another second place in South West Parishes 

2018 saw the Greens as runners up in Duffield before our breakthrough win in the 2019 elections when our first Green Borough Councillor was elected with Dave Wells winning in Duffield with 1,394 votes, fully 62.9% of the vote alongside another second place in Alport. Joe Martin then won a by-election to Duffield Parish Council beating the previous Conservative councillor.  

2021 saw further victories with Gez Kinsella elected to Derbyshire County Council representing Duffield & Belper South. Across the whole of Amber Valley, Green Party candidates received 5,623 votes, 13% of all votes cast at these elections. In addition, Steve Kennedy won a by-election to Belper Town Council in Belper South.

Following these successes, Steve Kennedy won a by-electon to Belper Town Council in May 2021 and Jamie Walls won a second Belper Town Council by-election in September 2021. Both by-elections were prompted by Labour resignations. So now we are the second largest group on Belper Town Council with 2 councillors.  

We now have elected members on Duffield Parish Council, Belper Town Council, Amber Valley Borough Council and Derbyshire County Council.

Amber Valley Borough Council elections:


2022 is the last time that elections will be held for Amber Valley Borough Council on the current ward boundaries. 2023 will see elections for all forty-two councillors in AmberValley on new boundaries. We are currently seeking candidates for these elections and would welcome enquires from people who would like to stand as candidates for the Green Party.

Wards with elections in 2022:


Alfreton -

Belper East -

Belper South –   Jamie Walls

Codnor & Waingroves -

Duffield -    Alison McDermott

Heanor & Loscoe -

Heanor East -

Heanor West -

Ironville & Riddings -

Kilburn, Denby & Holbrook -

Langley Mill & Aldercar -

Ripley -

ShipleyPark, Horsley & Horsley Woodhouse -

Somercotes -

Swanwick -


For more information about our Green candidates


If you have a question or comment, you can contact our candidates through this email address: Amber Valley Green Party

Press enquiries to: Rachael Hatchett 07776 456380

Parliamentary elections:

The Amber Valley Green Party stands candidates in two parliamentary seats: Amber Valley Constituency (covering Alfreton, Heanor and Ripley) and Mid Derbyshire Constituency (covering Belper, Duffield, Allestree, Spondon and Borrowash).


We contested these elections in 2015, 2017 and 2019.

The Borough of Amber Valley comprises: 

All of the Amber Valley Constituency, which comprises the wards of Alfreton, Codnor and Waingroves, Heage and Ambergate, Heanor and Loscoe, Heanor East, Heanor West, Ironville and Riddings, Kilburn, Denby and Holbrook, Langley Mill and Aldercar, Ripley, Ripley and Marehay, Shipley Park, Horsley and Horsley Woodhouse, Somercotes, Swanwick, and Wingfield.  

From Derbyshire Dales Constituency, the wards of: Alport, Crich and South West Parishes.  

From Mid-Derbyshire Constituency, the wards of Duffield and Belper Central, East, North and South.   


For more information and to get involved please see our Get Involved page

Sign up for updates

Find out more